The Resource His only wife, Peace Adzo Medie

His only wife, Peace Adzo Medie

Label
His only wife
Title
His only wife
Statement of responsibility
Peace Adzo Medie
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • Afi Tekple is a young seamstress whose life is narrowing rapidly. She lives in a small town in Ghana with her widowed mother, spending much of her time in her uncle Pious's house with his many wives and children. Then one day she is offered a life-changing opportunity--a proposal of marriage from the wealthy family of Elikem Ganyo, a man she doesn't truly know. She acquiesces, but soon realises that Elikem is not quite the catch he seemed. He sends a stand-in to his own wedding, and only weeks after Afi is married and installed in a plush apartment in the capital city of Accra does she meet her new husband. It turns out that he is in love with another woman, whom his family disapproves of; Afi is supposed to win him back on their behalf. But it is Accra that eventually wins Afi's heart and gives her a life of independence that she never could have imagined for herself
  • A brilliant scholar and a fierce advocate for women's rights, author Peace Adzo Medie infuses her debut novel with intelligence and humour. For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Candice Carty-Williams, His Only Wife is the story of an indomitable and relatable heroine that illuminates what it means to be a woman in a rapidly changing world
Cataloging source
NCAM
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Medie, Peace A
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Women
  • Women dressmakers
  • Arranged marriage
  • Ghana
Target audience
adult
Label
His only wife, Peace Adzo Medie
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published in 2020 by Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000068364593
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
278 pages
Isbn
9780861540723
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1226323572
Label
His only wife, Peace Adzo Medie
Publication
Copyright
Note
Originally published in 2020 by Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000068364593
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
278 pages
Isbn
9780861540723
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1226323572

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
    • Malabar Community LibraryBorrow it
      1203 Anzac Parade, Matraville, NSW, 2036, AU
      -33.962293 151.245961
    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre, Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...