Coverart for item
The Resource Death at Pompeia's Wedding

Death at Pompeia's Wedding

Label
Death at Pompeia's Wedding
Title
Death at Pompeia's Wedding
Creator
Subject
Summary
A society wedding turns deadly in the days of the Roman Empire . . . Second-century sleuth Libertus must prove a bride's innocence in this exciting, twisty mystery in the critically-acclaimed series set in Roman Britain. A perfect read for fans of Lindsey Davis and David Wishart."Rowe, a distinguished academic, excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain, effortlessly inserting historical context as well as clues. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike" – Publishers Weekly Pavement-maker Libertus, a former slave who is now a Roman citizen, is at a society wedding on behalf of his patron when the father of the bride is poisoned after testing the wedding wine. Pompeia, the bride, declares that she has caused the death, but Libertus is retained by the bridegroom to prove her innocence. His investigations uncover hidden tensions, and when another guest is discovered murdered at his home, events take a different and more sinister turn . . . Praise for Death at Pompeia's Wedding: "Cleverly plotted and chock-full of authentic period details and surprising twists, with an unexpected but satisfying ending" Booklist "A crisp and skillfully plotted whodunit full of deft period detail" Kirkus Reviews "A setup Agatha Christie fans would appreciate forms the framework for Rowe's fine 10th mystery set in second-century Roman-occupied Britain . . . Rowe does her usual excellent job of integrating the details of everyday life into the plot" Publishers Weekly "Libertus must quickly solve a puzzle that turns out to be his most challenging case. Sure to appeal to fans of John Maddox Roberts" Library Journal
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rowe, Rosemary
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Historical Fiction
  • Mystery
  • Fiction
Label
Death at Pompeia's Wedding
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:f2919982-cc6d-4610-96be-5b28e49593c3
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781780100234
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Death at Pompeia's Wedding
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:f2919982-cc6d-4610-96be-5b28e49593c3
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781780100234
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977