Coverart for item
The Resource Voyager : seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery, Stephen J. Pyne

Voyager : seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery, Stephen J. Pyne

Label
Voyager : seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery
Title
Voyager
Title remainder
seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery
Statement of responsibility
Stephen J. Pyne
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A new account of the Voyager space program--its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy. Launched in 1977, the two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets, and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many, this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration, begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this, Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history. For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore, to push into a wider world. In this highly original book, Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan, Columbus, Cook, Lewis and Clark, and other landmark explorers.--From publisher description
Summary
An assessment of the current state of the Voyager space program traces its origins in the 1957 Sputnik launch and evaluates the program's relevance and its imminent departure from the solar system
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
349981
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1949-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Pyne, Stephen J.
Dewey number
523
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • plates
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Voyager Project
  • Planets
  • Aeronautics
  • Astronautics
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery
Label
Voyager : seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery, Stephen J. Pyne
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. [419]-425) and index
Control code
000044982017
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
xix, 444 p., [8] p. of plates
Isbn
9780670021833
Other physical details
ill.
Label
Voyager : seeking newer worlds in the third great age of discovery, Stephen J. Pyne
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (p. [419]-425) and index
Control code
000044982017
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
xix, 444 p., [8] p. of plates
Isbn
9780670021833
Other physical details
ill.

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...