The Resource Thirty Days

Thirty Days

Label
Thirty Days
Title
Thirty Days
Statement of responsibility
Mark Raphael Baker
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
One minute my wife was there. In a flash she was gone. In the ten months of Kerryn's dying, I prepared myself for everything except for her death. Now that she is gone, I am desperate to know her as I never knew her.Thirty Days is a portrait of grief, of a marriage and of a family. It is the moving memoir of Mark's wife of 33 years, Kerryn Baker, who died ten months after her diagnosis, aged 55, from stomach cancer.It is also a study in how we construct our own version of the past, after Mark discovers a cache of Kerryn's letters in the laundry cupboard and has to rethink their relationship. It is a book about memory and its uncertainties, as Mark sifts through photos and home movies, as his wife gets sicker, and his search for clues about their relationship grows more desperate. In her last days, Kerryn reveals her traumatic childhood to Mark for the first time. She emerges as the rock of the family, a brave and wise woman, clear-eyed about her treatment, focused on finding the path to a peaceful death. Paradoxically, her dying brings the couple back to the intensity of their first love. In the tradition of Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air and Cory Taylor's remarkable memoir, Dying, Mark Baker's Thirty Days is an inspirational book about death and dying. As well as The Fiftieth Gate, A Journey Through Memory, a seminal book on his parents' experience during the Holocaust, Mark Raphael Baker has written a compelling memoir, Thirty Days, A Journey to the End of Love, about the recent death of his wife. He is Director of the Australian Centre for Jewish Civilisation and Associate Professor of Holocaust and Genocide Studies in the School at Monash University, Melbourne 'Piercing, unsparing, and sweet, this book will break your heart and put it back together again.' Miranda Richmond Mouillot, author of A Fifty-year Silence 'A lament, a wail, a raw confession of suffering and regret, but most of all, of love.' Ramona Koval 'During the first thirty days of mourning, as Jewish law decrees it, Mark Baker wrote about his wife Kerryn Baker, who lived an 'ordinary' life, as most of us do, but who was extraordinary in the courage, dignity, and above all, the gentle, wise grace of her dying. Few of us will be able to die so well, but every reader of this book will be inspired to do so. Baker recalls their life together and writes of Kerryn's death and dying in many tones—lyrically, tenderly, with self-deprecating irony, embarrassed candour and more—but one hears in them all pain so raw and need so desperate that it sometimes threatened to unhinge him. He writes of love and grief with power that brings back to our hearts knowledge that is too often only in our heads—that the disappearance of a human personality will forever be mysterious to us because every human being is irreplaceable.' Raimond Gaita 'Thirty Days is more than a cancer memoir, it is a searching, courageous, intensely intimate portrait of a marriage, a family, a beloved woman, a man wild with loss. Baker addresses the reader with searing honesty from the very heart of grief. His testimony will leave you devastated, enriched, irrevocably altered.' Emily Bitto 'A beautiful memoir, not just about one marriage, but the nature of marriage itself.' Readings 'A book characterised by love, empathy and connection to life.' Sydney Morning Herald 'Baker's memoir allows his readers to see the magnitude of our existence beneath the surface of our daily lives' Courier Mail
Summary
One minute my wife was there. In a flash she was gone. In the ten months of Kerryn's dying, I prepared myself for everything except for her death. Now that she is gone, I am desperate to know her as I never knew her. Thirty Days is a portrait of grief, of a marriage and of a family. It is the moving memoir of Mark's wife of 33 years, Kerryn Baker, who died ten months after her diagnosis, aged 55, from stomach cancer. It is also a study in how we construct our own version of the past, after Mark discovers a cache of Kerryn's letters in the laundry cupboard and has to rethink their relationship. It is a book about memory and its uncertainties, as Mark sifts through photos and home movies, as his wife gets sicker, and his search for clues about their relationship grows more desperate. In her last days, Kerryn reveals her traumatic childhood to Mark for the first time. She emerges as the rock of the family, a brave and wise woman, clear-eyed about her treatment, focused on finding the path to a peaceful death. Paradoxically, her dying brings the couple back to the intensity of their first love. In the tradition of Paul Kalanithi's When Breath Becomes Air and Cory Taylor's remarkable memoir, Dying, Mark Baker's Thirty Days is an inspirational book about death and dying
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
individual biography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10601642
Cataloging source
ANL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1959-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Baker, Mark Raphael
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Biography & Autobiography
  • Multi-Cultural
  • Nonfiction
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a journey to the end of love
Label
Thirty Days
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:4c6fd01b-e904-42e8-bfff-f5887aaaa661
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781925410877
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Thirty Days
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:4c6fd01b-e904-42e8-bfff-f5887aaaa661
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781925410877
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...