Coverart for item
The Resource The waiting room, Leah Kaminsky

The waiting room, Leah Kaminsky

Label
The waiting room
Title
The waiting room
Statement of responsibility
Leah Kaminsky
Title variation
Waiting room
Title variation remainder
love is more ferocious than terror
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"Dina is a family doctor living in the melting-pot city of Haifa, Israel. Born in Australia in a Jewish enclave of Melbourne to Holocaust survivors, Dina left behind a childhood marred by misery and the tragedies of the past to build a new life for herself in the Promised Land. After starting a family of her own, she finds her life falling apart beneath the demands of her eccentric patients, a marriage starting to fray, the ever-present threat of terrorist attack and the ghost of her mother, haunting her with memories that Dina would prefer to leave on the other side of the world."--Back cover
Summary
"A multi-generational novel perfect for fans of The Tiger's Wife and A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Leah Kaminsky's wry fiction debut unfolds over a day in the life of a young physician in contemporary Israel, who must cope with modern threats underthe shadow of her parents' horrific wartime pasts"--
Theme
Storyline
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10455504
Cataloging source
ANL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1959-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kaminsky, Leah
Dewey number
823.3
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women physicians
  • Australians
Target audience
adult
Label
The waiting room, Leah Kaminsky
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Vintage book, published by Random House Australia..." --title page verso
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Control code
000055158475
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
ix, 286 pages
Isbn
9780857986221
Lccn
2014471749
System control number
(OCoLC)910527095
Label
The waiting room, Leah Kaminsky
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A Vintage book, published by Random House Australia..." --title page verso
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Control code
000055158475
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
ix, 286 pages
Isbn
9780857986221
Lccn
2014471749
System control number
(OCoLC)910527095

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...