Coverart for item
The Resource The toymakers, Robert Dinsdale

The toymakers, Robert Dinsdale

Label
The toymakers
Title
The toymakers
Statement of responsibility
Robert Dinsdale
Title variation
Toy makers
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The Emporium opens with the first frost of winter. It is the same every year. Across the city, when children wake to see ferns of white stretched across their windows, or walk to school to hear ice crackling underfoot, the whispers begin: the Emporium is open! Christmas is coming, and the goose is getting fat...It is 1917, and London has spent years in the shadow of the First World War. In the heart of Mayfair, though, there is a place of hope. A place where children's dreams can come true, where the impossible becomes possible - that place is Papa Jack's Toy Emporium. For years Papa Jack has created and sold his famous magical toys: hobby horses, patchwork dogs and bears that seem alive, toy boxes bigger on the inside than out, 'instant trees' that sprout from boxes, tin soldiers that can fight battles on their own. Now his sons, Kaspar and Emil, are just old enough to join the family trade. Into this family comes a young Cathy Wray - homeless and vulnerable. The Emporium takes her in, makes her one of its own. But Cathy is about to discover that while all toy shops are places of wonder, only one is truly magical..
Summary
An EBook Number 1 bestseller with over 100 5* reviews - readers are enchanted by this magic tale:'If you only buy one book this year - buy this one''As if Terry Pratchett has come back to life Disney Toy Story style''Best book I've read for many years''A book to lose yourself in'
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10680646
Cataloging source
WWBK
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1981-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dinsdale, Robert
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fathers and sons
  • Homeless women
  • Families
  • Secrecy
  • Magic
  • World War, 1914-1918
  • Toy stores
  • Toymakers
  • London (England)
  • London (England)
  • London (England)
Target audience
adult
Label
The toymakers, Robert Dinsdale
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A dark enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of The Miniaturist."--Page [4] of cover
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000061552922
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
468 pages
Isbn
9781785038129
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)987432634
Label
The toymakers, Robert Dinsdale
Publication
Copyright
Note
"A dark enchanting, spectacularly imaginative novel perfect for fans of The Miniaturist."--Page [4] of cover
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000061552922
Dimensions
23 cm.
Extent
468 pages
Isbn
9781785038129
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)987432634

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...