Coverart for item
The Resource The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel, Elizabeth Berg

The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel, Elizabeth Berg

Label
The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel
Title
The story of Arthur Truluv
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Elizabeth Berg
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For the past six months, Arthur Moses's days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life. Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur -- a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur's kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname "Truluv." As Arthur's neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew. Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age."--Dust jacket flap
Member of
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Loan Stars Favourites, 2017
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2017.
Review
  • A cemetery might be an odd place for two people to strike up a friendship—especially an elderly man and a teenage girl—but Arthur Moses and Maddy Harris are fairly odd people. Arthur visits the cemetery to talk to his late wife, Nora, though he has a gift for divining the backstories of the graveyard’s other permanent residents. Maddy doesn’t have a personal connection to this particular cemetery, but she finds the quiet grounds peaceful after the chaos of school and the tension at home. They strike up conversations over picnic lunches and find they have more in common than they ever would have imagined. Maddy’s mother passed away when she was young, and Arthur is surprised to find that the teenager is wise beyond her years. This unlikely duo shares secrets, memories, and plans for the future in Elizabeth Berg’s inspiring and poignant novel. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 6/1/2017) (Booklist, vol 113, number 19, p56)
  • Arthur meets Maddy when he's visiting his dead wife in the cemetery; he eats lunch there every day. Maddy is a high school senior who's got a hopeless crush on a jerk. Warm-hearted Arthur reaches out to Maddy in a totally open way, as Maddy's parents seem uninvolved at best. The Story of Arthur Truluv is one of those rare coming-of-age novels that is just as much about the end of life as it is about growing up. -- Michelle Beckes, Tulsa City County Library, Tulsa, OK. (LibraryReads, November 2017)
  • Arthur, the title character of the latest from Berg (Talk Before Sleep), does not enjoy living alone. Since his wife’s death, the best part of his daily routine is visiting the cemetery to eat lunch at her grave. The only other constants in his life are taking care of his cat and keeping his distance from his nosy neighbor, Lucille. Then he meets Maddy, a troubled teen who is bullied at school and misunderstood by her father at home, and who has taken to hanging out at the cemetery to be by herself. The two form a bond, and when Maddy gets pregnant with her ex-boyfriend’s baby, she seeks Arthur’s help. Together with Lucille, who has recently faced her own tragic loss, the three form something like a family. Berg’s novel is as comforting as Lucille’s fresh-baked cookies, with plenty of charm and memorable characters. Readers will be taken by this story about how friendship can defy any generation gap and how it’s never too late to find a new purpose in life. (Nov.) --Staff (Reviewed 09/04/2017) (Publishers Weekly, vol 264, issue 36, p)
  • Berg's (The Dream Lover; Durable Goods) latest is the sweet, sentimental tale of an elderly man and a teenager coming into each other's lives at just the right moment. Arthur is mourning the passing of his beloved wife, Nola. Despite the weather, every single day he packs his lunch and takes the bus to the cemetery to chat with Nola while he eats. Maddy is a 16-year-old with a nose ring who gets harshly bullied in school. Her single father isn't capable of parenting her, so she acts out by skipping class and spending time in the cemetery, which she finds calming. After eyeing each other for days, the duo finally start talking. Once she gets to know him, Maddy anoints Arthur with the surname "Truluv." After a particularly difficult turn of events in Maddy's life, she moves in with Arthur, as does his nosy neighbor Lucille, a master baker who spreads her love with cookies and caramel bars. VERDICT In the vein of Fannie Flagg, this life-affirming story is a definite choice for Berg's many fans and anyone looking for a little break from the darker novels that have been so popular lately. [See Prepub Alert, 1/18/17.]—Beth Gibbs, Davidson, NC --Beth Gibbs (Reviewed 05/15/2017) (Library Journal, vol 142, issue 9, p69)
  • In a small Missouri town, a widower finds solace by reaching out to other troubled souls.Arthur Moses, 85, goes every day to the cemetery to eat his lunch at his late wife Nola's grave. At night, he dines on whatever canned goods he can cobble together, tries to prevent his cat, Gordon, from running away, and dodges the busybody next door, Lucille, who keeps trying to entice him onto her front porch with her delicious baked goods. (This book depicts so many luscious-sounding confections it should come with its own FDA label.) One day at the cemetery, Arthur meets Maddy, a teenager with a nose ring, who hangs out there. They strike up a friendship born of mutual isolation, and she dubs him "Truluv" for his enduring devotion to Nola. As the point of view shifts among these three characters, we learn that Maddy, now a senior in high school, has been ostracized by her classmates. Her problems stem in part from the fact that her father, who raised her alone, irrationally blames her for her mother's death in a car crash soon after her birth. A retired schoolteacher, Lucille, also in her 80s, never married because Frank, her high school true love, wed someone else. However, Frank has recently resurfaced and is trying to rekindle romance in their twilight years. Maddy's social life consists of hookups with an older man she met at Wal-Mart, and one of these trysts leaves her pregnant. When her father urges her to terminate the pregnancy, she takes refuge at Arthur's house. He and Lucille become Maddy's surrogate parents, and, by taking over housekeeping chores, Maddy helps them age in place. Both are childless and look forward eagerly to the birth of the baby, giving Maddy the unconditional moral and financial support she has always craved. The life-affirming messages are far from subtle, and the fine line between sensitivity and sentimentality is often breached. Aims for profound but settles for pleasant.(Kirkus Reviews, May 15, 2017)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10563858
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Berg, Elizabeth
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Mason novels
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Widowers
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Teenage girls
Target audience
adult
Label
The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel, Elizabeth Berg
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000061179895
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
222 pages
Isbn
9781400069903
Lccn
2016047564
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9781400069903
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)966632666
Label
The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel, Elizabeth Berg
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000061179895
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
222 pages
Isbn
9781400069903
Lccn
2016047564
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other control number
9781400069903
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)966632666

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre, Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...