Coverart for item
The Resource The seventh circle : a former Australian soldier's extraordinary story of surviving seven years in Afghanistan's most notorious prison, Robert Langdon

The seventh circle : a former Australian soldier's extraordinary story of surviving seven years in Afghanistan's most notorious prison, Robert Langdon

Label
The seventh circle : a former Australian soldier's extraordinary story of surviving seven years in Afghanistan's most notorious prison
Title
The seventh circle
Title remainder
a former Australian soldier's extraordinary story of surviving seven years in Afghanistan's most notorious prison
Statement of responsibility
Robert Langdon
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Midnight Express, The Damage Done, Marching Powder and Hotel Kerobokan comes an extraordinary story of Australian resilience and survival in Afghan's notorious Pul-e-Charkhi prison, a place that's been described as 'the world's worst place to be a westerner'
Biography type
autobiography
Biographical or historical data
Robert Langdon grew up on Billa Kalina Station in the South Australian outback. In 1989 he joined the Australian Army where he served for 15 years before transferring to the Army Reserves. He served as a Section Commander on Operation Plumbob to the Solomon Islands in 1999 and Operation Lorosae in East Timor in 2000. Robert was awarded the Australian Active Service Medal with East Timor clasp, the Infantry Combat Badge and the United Nations Medal for his service overseas. In 2004 he began work as a private security contractor in Iraq and Afghanistan and worked with the US Army, civilian contractors and in medical evacuations. In 2008, Robert was employed in Afghanistan by the U.S. company, The Four Horsemen International. His job was to supervise security operations for the company on such tasks as guarding food and supply convoys, and medical relief expeditions. After serving seven years of a twenty year sentence in Kabul's infamous Pul-e-Charkhi prison, Rob was pardoned by the Afghan President in mid-2016 and returned to Australia. He has always maintained his innocence.
Cataloging source
ANL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Langdon, Robert
Dewey number
958.1047
Illustrations
  • illustrations
  • portraits
  • plates
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1966-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Knox, Malcolm
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Langdon, Rob
  • Langdon, Robert
  • Pulicharkhi Prison (Afghanistan)
  • Langdon, Robert
  • Prisoners
  • Prisoners, Foreign
  • Prisons
  • Afghan War, 2001-
  • Prisoners, Foreign
  • Soldiers
  • Prisoners
  • Afghanistan
  • Afghanistan
Label
The seventh circle : a former Australian soldier's extraordinary story of surviving seven years in Afghanistan's most notorious prison, Robert Langdon
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
Record machine-generated from publisher information
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
000061009400
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
293 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781760296407
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
colour illustrations, colour portraits, ccolour plates
System control number
(OCoLC)999615082
Label
The seventh circle : a former Australian soldier's extraordinary story of surviving seven years in Afghanistan's most notorious prison, Robert Langdon
Publication
Copyright
Note
Record machine-generated from publisher information
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
000061009400
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
293 pages, 16 unnumbered pages of plates
Isbn
9781760296407
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
colour illustrations, colour portraits, ccolour plates
System control number
(OCoLC)999615082

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...