Coverart for item
The Resource The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

Label
The nest
Title
The nest
Statement of responsibility
Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A sharp, funny and deftly observed debut about a wonderfully dysfunctional New York family, The Plumbs, and the three grown-up siblings fighting to save the family money pot - the 'nest' - as their oldest brother threatens to lose it all. Perfect for fans of The Middlesteins and The Vacationers. When Leo Plumb drives off drunk from a party in a sports car with a nineteen-year-old waitress in tow, to the moral and legal fallout must be added the horrible inconvenience to his brother and sisters. Leo's rehab costs have severely depleted 'the nest' - the family's joint trust fund that would have cut them loose from their myriad financial issues. For Melody, a suburban wife and mother, it was to cover both an unwieldy mortgage and her daughters' college tuition. Antiques dealer Jack has secretly borrowed against the beach cottage he shares with his husband. And Beatrice, a once-promising short story writer, can't seem to finish her overdue novel. Brought together as never before, the Plumb siblings must grapple with old resentments, present-day truths, and the significant emotional and financial toll of the accident, as well as finally acknowledging the choices they have made in their own lives. Ferociously astute, warm and funny, The Nest is a brilliant debut chronicling the hilarity and savagery of family life
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Sweeney, Cynthia D'Aprix
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Inheritance and succession
Label
The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000057190538
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
x, 400 pages
Isbn
9780008168681
Lccn
bl2016001887
System control number
(OCoLC)945389018
Label
The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Publication
Copyright
Note
A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000057190538
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
x, 400 pages
Isbn
9780008168681
Lccn
bl2016001887
System control number
(OCoLC)945389018

Library Locations

    • Malabar Community LibraryBorrow it
      1203 Anzac Parade, Matraville, NSW, 2036, AU
      -33.962293 151.245961
Processing Feedback ...