Coverart for item
The Resource The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

Label
The nest
Title
The nest
Statement of responsibility
Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Title variation
nest
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A sharp, funny and deftly observed debut about a wonderfully dysfunctional New York family, The Plumbs, and the three grown-up siblings fighting to save the family money pot - the 'nest' - as their oldest brother threatens to lose it all. Perfect for fans of The Middlesteins and The Vacationers. When Leo Plumb drives off drunk from a party in a sports car with a nineteen-year-old waitress in tow, to the moral and legal fallout must be added the horrible inconvenience to his brother and sisters. Leo's rehab costs have severely depleted 'the nest' - the family's joint trust fund that would have cut them loose from their myriad financial issues. For Melody, a suburban wife and mother, it was to cover both an unwieldy mortgage and her daughters' college tuition. Antiques dealer Jack has secretly borrowed against the beach cottage he shares with his husband. And Beatrice, a once-promising short story writer, can't seem to finish her overdue novel. Brought together as never before, the Plumb siblings must grapple with old resentments, present-day truths, and the significant emotional and financial toll of the accident, as well as finally acknowledging the choices they have made in their own lives. Ferociously astute, warm and funny, The Nest is a brilliant debut chronicling the hilarity and savagery of family life
Summary
Every family has its problems. But even among the most troubled, the Plumb family stands out as spectacularly dysfunctional. Years of simmering tensions finally reach a breaking point on an unseasonably cold afternoon in New York City as Melody, Beatrice, and Jack Plumb gather to confront their charismatic and reckless older brother, Leo, freshly released from rehab. Months earlier, an inebriated Leo got behind the wheel of a car with a nineteen-year-old waitress as his passenger. The ensuing accident has endangered the Plumbs joint trust fund, "The Nest" which they are months away from finally receiving. Meant by their deceased father to be a modest mid-life supplement, the Plumb siblings have watched The Nest's value soar along with the stock market and have been counting on the money to solve a number of self-inflicted problems. Melody, a wife and mother in an upscale suburb, has an unwieldy mortgage and looming college tuition for her twin teenage daughters. Jack, an antiques dealer, has secretly borrowed against the beach cottage he shares with his husband, Walker, to keep his store open. And Bea, a once-promising short-story writer, just can't seem to finish her overdue novel. Can Leo rescue his siblings and, by extension, the people they love? Or will everyone need to reimagine the future they've envisioned? Brought together as never before, Leo, Melody, Jack, and Beatrice must grapple with old resentments, present-day truths, and the significant emotional and financial toll of the accident, as well as finally acknowledge the choices they have made in their own lives
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2016
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2016
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10461289
Cataloging source
NjBwBT
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Sweeney, Cynthia D'Aprix
Dewey number
813
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • Brothers and sisters
  • Inheritance and succession
Target audience
adult
Label
The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000057190538
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
x, 400 pages
Isbn
9780008168681
Lccn
bl2016001887
System control number
(OCoLC)945389018
Label
The nest, Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
Publication
Copyright
Note
A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000057190538
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
x, 400 pages
Isbn
9780008168681
Lccn
bl2016001887
System control number
(OCoLC)945389018

Library Locations

    • Malabar Community LibraryBorrow it
      1203 Anzac Parade, Matraville, NSW, 2036, AU
      -33.962293 151.245961
Processing Feedback ...