Coverart for item
The Resource The memory police, Yoko Ogawa ; translated from the Japanese by Stephen Snyder

The memory police, Yoko Ogawa ; translated from the Japanese by Stephen Snyder

Label
The memory police
Title
The memory police
Statement of responsibility
Yoko Ogawa ; translated from the Japanese by Stephen Snyder
Creator
Contributor
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Hat, ribbon, bird, rose. To the people on the island, a disappeared thing no longer has any meaning. It can be burned in the garden, thrown in the river or handed over to the Memory Police. Soon enough, the island forgets it ever existed. When a young novelist discovers that her editor is in danger of being taken away by the Memory Police, she desperately wants to save him. For some reason, he doesn’t forget, and it’s becoming increasingly difficult for him to hide his memories. Who knows what will vanish next? The Memory Police is a beautiful, haunting and provocative fable about the power of memory and the trauma of loss from one of Japan’s greatest writers. For readers of The Handmaid's Tale, Fahrenheit 451 and Nineteen Eighty-Four
Member of
Summary
An Orwellian novel about the terrors of state surveillance finds a young novelist hiding her editor from mysterious authorities who would erase all memories of people who once existed
Storyline
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10795313
Cataloging source
SISPL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1962-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Ogawa, Yōko
Dewey number
895.635
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1957-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Snyder, Stephen
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Loss (Psychology)
  • Memory
  • Novelists
Target audience
adult
Label
The memory police, Yoko Ogawa ; translated from the Japanese by Stephen Snyder
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000065922869
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
274 pages
Isbn
9781787300750
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1111718045
Label
The memory police, Yoko Ogawa ; translated from the Japanese by Stephen Snyder
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000065922869
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
274 pages
Isbn
9781787300750
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1111718045

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre , Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...