Coverart for item
The Resource The Ninth Hour

The Ninth Hour

Label
The Ninth Hour
Title
The Ninth Hour
Statement of responsibility
Alice McDermott
Title variation
9th hour
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
WINNER OF TEH PRIX FEMINA ETRANGER 2018SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2017 KIRKUS PRIZEONE OF TIME MAGAZINE'S TOP TEN BOOKS OF 2017From the National Book Award-winning author comes a luminous, deeply humane novel about three generations of an Irish immigrant family in 1940s and 1950s Brooklyn – for fans of Anne Tyler, Anne Enright and Colm TóibínOn a gloomy February afternoon, Jim sends his wife Annie out to do the shopping before dark falls. He seals their meagre apartment, unhooks the gas tube inside the oven, and inhales. Sister St. Saviour, a Little Nursing Sister of the Sick Poor, catches the scent of fire doused with water and hurries to the scene: a gathered crowd, firemen, and the distraught young widow. Moved by the girl's plight, and her unborn child, the wise nun finds Annie work in the convent's laundry – where, in turn, her daughter will grow up amidst the crank of the wringer and the hiss of the iron. In Catholic Brooklyn in the early part of the twentieth century, decorum, superstition and shame collude to erase Jim's brief existence; and yet his suicide, although never mentioned, reverberates through many generations – testing the limits of love and sacrifice, of forgiveness and forgetfulness. In prose of startling radiance and precision, Alice McDermott tells a story that is at once wholly individual and universal in its understanding of the human condition. Rendered with remarkable lucidity and intelligence, The Ninth Hour is the crowning achievement of one of today's finest writers
Summary
A portrait of the Irish-American experience is presented through the story of an Irish immigrant's suicide and how it reverberates through innumerable lives in early twentieth-century Catholic Brooklyn
Theme
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • New York Times Notable Book, 2017
  • Library Journal Best Books, 2017.
  • Booklist Editors' Choice, 2017.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10576367
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
McDermott, Alice
Dewey number
813.54
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
Target audience
adult
Label
The Ninth Hour
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:c3981f7d-e119-4255-ba4c-8f2cc1443135
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781408854624
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Ninth Hour
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:c3981f7d-e119-4255-ba4c-8f2cc1443135
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781408854624
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...