Coverart for item
The Resource The Golden Child

The Golden Child

Label
The Golden Child
Title
The Golden Child
Statement of responsibility
Wendy James
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
2017 Ned Kelly Award Best Crime Fiction shortlist'A chilling novel of our time, with a truly shocking twist' Australian Women's Weekly When teenage bullying spirals out of control who is to blame?Blogger Lizzy's life is shiny, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions simmer with her husband, mother-in-law, her own mother. Her daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved into teenage-hood, their lives -­ at school, home and online - increasingly mysterious to her. Then a fellow student is callously bullied and the finger of blame pointed at one of Beth's girls. As an innocent child lies suspended between life and death, two families are forced to question everything they believe about their children, and the answers are terrifying. As unsettling as it is compelling, The Golden Child asks: how well can you know anyone in the digital age? A potent story with shades of The Party and Mary Kubica. Two families grapple with the tragic fallout of cyberbullying. PRAISE'On par with the thought-provoking nature of Jodi Picoult's works, combined with the raptstorytelling style of Liane Moriarty, readers will finish the last page wanting more' Erin Holt, Booklist US'The novel is cleverly constructed, the characters are extremely well-drawn, the use of social media as a plot device is very sophisticated, and the resolution is a genuine surprise' Judges' report, Ned Kelly Crime Awards, 2017 'This is domestic noir at its most intelligent and sharp' Sydney Morning Herald'It takes 48 hours to pulse through Wendy James' rollercoaster 21st century story about parenting' Australian Women's Weekly'an engaging and intimate read that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult, with nods to Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas' The Slap . . . 4 Stars' Books & Publishing'This book is utterly brilliant' Nicola Moriarty''Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written' Danielle Hawkins
Summary
Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness... Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth's clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for. This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child?
Storyline
Writing style
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10545427
Cataloging source
ANL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1966-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
James, Wendy
Dewey number
823.4
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Literature
Target audience
adult
Label
The Golden Child
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:d6138f11-7476-42b2-8b43-9340441e0913
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781460707227
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
The Golden Child
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:d6138f11-7476-42b2-8b43-9340441e0913
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781460707227
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...