Coverart for item
The Resource Someone is watching : a novel, Joy Fielding

Someone is watching : a novel, Joy Fielding

Label
Someone is watching : a novel
Title
Someone is watching
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Joy Fielding
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "Perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner, Mary Higgins Clark, and Jenny Milchman, Someone Is Watching is a pulse-pounding, edge-of-your-seat novel of suspense that features the extraordinary storytelling gifts of bestselling author Joy Fielding on full display"--
  • "Deeply shaken after a brutal attack, Bailey Carpenter struggles to reclaim control over what had once seemed like a neatly-ordered life. Unable to face her job, her friends, or even the world outside her apartment, Bailey is trapped with her thoughts, replaying the attack in a desperate search for a detail that will help the police uncover the identity of her unknown assailant. Bailey sees her attacker in the face of every stranger, and is unable to trust anyone other than her half-sister, Claire, and Claire's snarky teenage daughter Jade. To pass the time in her lonely apartment, Bailey plays with the binoculars she once used in her career as a private investigator, scanning the high-rise buildings around hers for entertainment. She quickly discovers a favorite source: a handsome, wealthy playboy in the apartment across the street. But she watches him strut around his bedroom, she starts to wonder if he's putting on a show - with her as his intended audience. Looking out the window late one night, she sees him looking tauntingly right back at her, binoculars in hand. Could it be the assailant she's been so desperate to identify has been right there, watching her, the whole time? The police, exasperated after Bailey's many paranoid false alarms, believe she's crying wolf, and Claire tries to convince her she's wrong. Doubting her own sanity, Bailey has only Jade left to turn to, and together the two hatch a dangerous plot to discover just what exactly is going on in the apartment across the way"--
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • /* Starred Review */ Bailey Carpenter’s life isn’t perfect, but it’s hers. She works as a private investigator, lives in one of Miami’s nicest high rises, and has a close relationship with her brother. The cons? Her job’s long hours, a pending lawsuit with her extended family, and an ill-advised affair with her married boss. Utterly eclipsing these annoyances, Bailey is brutally raped one evening while staking out a client. On leave from work and terrified to leave her apartment, Bailey hurtles between paranoia, anxiety, and depression. Forced to rebuild her identity, career, and mental health from the ground up, Bailey must face the biggest challenge of her life. Bailey wants to take charge of her pending police investigation and regain control, but her undercover experience proves to be a huge liability. Someone Is Watching is a gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller reminiscent of Rear Window and the works of Lisa Gardner. Fielding has crafted a flawed yet likable heroine in Bailey by allowing her to experience the varied emotions of recovery instead of pigeonholing her as a helpless victim or bloodthirsty vigilante. Not geared to the faint of heart, Fielding’s story of one woman’s search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting. -- Turza, Stephanie (Reviewed 03-01-2015) (Booklist, vol 111, number 13, p26)
  • /* Starred Review */ This engrossing standalone from bestseller Fielding (Shadow Creek ) makes you care about Bailey Carpenter, a Miami-based investigator who’s raped while on surveillance. Previously, the biggest problems in Bailey’s life had been her mother’s death, her affair with a married colleague, and her five half-siblings’ attempt to overturn their father’s will, which left millions to Bailey and her often-stoned brother, Heath. Now Claire, a nurse as well as the half-sister Bailey barely knows, becomes her guardian angel as she starts on her slow path to recovery. Not sleeping and afraid to leave her high-rise apartment, Bailey suspects every man of evil intent, and she has a number of encounters, both frightening and embarrassing, in her quest to re-establish some control over her life. The characters pulsate with life, and there are a few shocks in store—for Bailey and the reader—before the denouement. And the presence of Jade, Claire’s outspoken teen daughter, blows everyone else off the page. Agent: Tracy Fisher, WME Entertainment. (Mar.) --Staff (Reviewed January 26, 2015) (Publishers Weekly, vol 262, issue 04, p)
  • Devastated by a brutal attack, private investigator Bailey Carpenter withdraws to spend her time staring out her apartment window with her binoculars, noting especially the hunky guy across the way. One day, she finds him staring back mockingly and becomes convinced that he's her attacker. More suspense from the New York Times best seller after Shadow Creek . --Barbara Hoffert (Reviewed October 15, 2014) (Library Journal, vol 139, issue 17, p63)
  • A detective searches for her rapist in Fielding's latest thriller.Heiress to her father's Wall Street fortune, Bailey Carpenter lives a life of privilege in a luxury Miami high-rise and works as an investigator for a law firm. However, Bailey and her actor-brother Heath are being sued by their five half siblings, who were left out of the will. Bailey is still traumatized by her father's fatal heart attack and by her mother's long ordeal and death from cancer. Her romantic life is also complex—she's in love with her married boss. Hiding in some bushes after midnight, staking out a deadbeat dad, Bailey is viciously raped by a masked assailant. She can recall only the feel of his gloves, a fleeting glance at his black Nike sneakers and his voice, asking her to "tell me you love me." Another ordeal begins as Bailey, on leave from work, suffers panic attacks, severe weight loss and recurring dreams of her attacker and circling sharks. Her half sister Claire, a nurse, comes to the rescue, accompanied by teen daughter Jade, who has done a stint in juvie and expertly picks Bailey's locks. Despite the lawsuit, Claire's care for Bailey is devoid of any greedy ulterior motives. She recommends a therapist and tries to discourage Bailey from another self-destructive habit she has picked up: observing a man in a neighboring high-rise who has nightly sexual assignations fully visible through his open window. As his acts become violent, Bailey can't interest law enforcement in focusing on the window exhibitionist since she's the only one to ever observe him doing anything suspicious and her credibility is suspect due to mental instability. The conclusion to all this involves improbable coincidences, a giant MacGuffin and surprising lapses of intuition on the part of supposedly seasoned gumshoe Bailey; her hypersensitivity is very selectively triggered, usually by red herrings. Still, the mystery is not the point in Fielding's work: A page-turning ride with a likable protagonist is, and here, she succeeds admirably.(Kirkus Reviews, January 15, 2015)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10402619
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Fielding, Joy
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Women
  • Voyeurism
  • Voyeurism
  • Women
  • Women
Label
Someone is watching : a novel, Joy Fielding
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Control code
000054425531
Dimensions
25 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
369 pages
Isbn
9780553390636
Isbn Type
(hbk. : acidfree paper)
Label
Someone is watching : a novel, Joy Fielding
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Control code
000054425531
Dimensions
25 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
369 pages
Isbn
9780553390636
Isbn Type
(hbk. : acidfree paper)

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...