The Resource Snake Island

Snake Island

Label
Snake Island
Title
Snake Island
Creator
Subject
Summary
Vernon and Penelope never want to see their son Caleb again. Not after he bashed his wife and ended up in gaol. A lifetime of careful parental love wiped out in a moment.But when Vernon, a retired teacher, hears that Caleb is being regularly visited and savagely beaten by a local criminal as the police stand by, he knows he has to act. What has his life as a father been if he turns his back on his son in his hour of desperate need? He realises with shame that he has grievously failed Caleb. No longer.To stop the beatings, Vernon plans to approach Ernie Cahill, father of the man bashing Caleb, and head of the local drug-dealing operation. The Cahills run the town and the cops, but Vernon is determined to fix things in a civilised way, father to father. If he shows respect, he reasons, it will be reciprocated. But how wrong he is.And what hell will he bring down on his family? Reading like a morality tale Western but in a starkly beautiful Australian setting, Snake Island is a propulsive literary thriller written with great clarity and power. It will take you to the edge and keep you there long after the final page is turned.Praise for Ben's first novel, To Become a Whale:'Hobson takes us to the depths of cruelty to show us life. A boy tries to be a man, a man tries to be a father, and both struggle to navigate what it means to be men. A great study in masculinity.' Willy Vlautin, author of Lean on Pete'A stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the Shallows and Tim Winton's An Open Swimmer.' Brisbane Times'A moving debut...If you've enjoyed the work of Tim Winton, Favel Parrett and Sonya Hartnett, you'll enjoy To Become a Whale. Hobson's voice sits comfortably alongside those terrific authors.' Rohan Wilson, The Australian
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Hobson, Ben
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Australian Fiction
  • Crime & Thriller
Label
Snake Island
Instantiates
Control code
BORROWBOX:AAU_650636
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781760871925
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Snake Island
Control code
BORROWBOX:AAU_650636
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781760871925
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...