Coverart for item
The Resource Saint's gate, Carla Neggers

Saint's gate, Carla Neggers

Label
Saint's gate
Title
Saint's gate
Statement of responsibility
Carla Neggers
Title variation
Saints gate
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When Emma Sharpe is summoned to a convent on the Maine coast, it's partly for her art crimes work with the FBI, partly because of her past with the religious order. At issue is a mysterious painting depicting scenes of Irish lore and Viking legends, and her family's connection to the work. But when the nun who contacted her is murdered, it seems legend is becoming deadly reality
Member of
Pace
Tone
Review
  • This novel of suspense from Neggers (Cold River) uneasily combines Maine artists, Irish saints, Viking artifacts, convent life, and the FBI. Puzzled by a mysterious painting that may hold clues to the whereabouts of an original Rembrandt, art conservationist Sister Joan Mary Fabriani invites FBI special agent Emma Sharpe, a former novice at the Sisters of the Joyful Heart convent, to the tiny religious order on the Maine coast to investigate. When Sister Joan is murdered and the painting disappears, Emma draws on her family's background in art investigation to find the cause. The search leads her to Ireland, where her grandfather, the founder of Sharpe Fine Art Recovery, is attacked. Colin Donovan, an FBI undercover agent with local roots, is put on the case as well, and sexual sparks soon fly. Neggers shows her skill in the feisty couple's romantic skirmishes, but the charm of their byplay can't compensate for the far-fetched backstory, chunks of unnecessary filler, and predictable denouement. (Sept.) --Staff (Reviewed July 25, 2011) (Publishers Weekly, vol 258, issue 30, p)
  • FBI agent Emma Sharpe, an art expert from a family of art experts, is called to view a painting at a convent on the Maine coast, the request coming from a nun with connections to Emma's past. When the nun is murdered and the painting mysteriously disappears, enter deep undercover FBI agent Colin Donovan, who's been pointed in Emma's direction by her concerned boss and a certain interfering priest. The attraction that Emma and Colin feel for each other is neither smart nor convenient as their search for the killer takes them to Ireland for answers that seem to lead to more questions. VERDICT With a great plot and excellent character development, Neggers's (Cold Dawn ) latest thriller, the first in a new series, is a fast-paced, action-packed tale of romantic suspense that will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Gardner.— Debbie Haupt, St. Charles City/Cty. P.L., MO --Debbie Haupt (Reviewed July 1, 2011) (Library Journal, vol 136, issue 12, p73)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10012194
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Neggers, Carla
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Sharpe & Donovan novel
Series volume
0001
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • United States
  • Nuns
  • Art thefts
Label
Saint's gate, Carla Neggers
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
000047684412
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
331 p.
Isbn
9780778312352
Label
Saint's gate, Carla Neggers
Publication
Control code
000047684412
Dimensions
25 cm.
Extent
331 p.
Isbn
9780778312352

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...