Coverart for item
The Resource Orient, Christopher Bollen

Orient, Christopher Bollen

Label
Orient
Title
Orient
Statement of responsibility
Christopher Bollen
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Orient, seated at the toe of the north leg of Long Island, ebbs and flows with the seasons. When the days start to grow, the first SUVs begin to roll in, filled with beach towels, croquet sets, and the summering multitudes of nearby New York City. But when the season reaches its close and the swell recedes, a town remains in its wake. This is the real Orient, the one that stood on its lawn, gardening trowel hung low at its side, eyes squinting against the sun, as Mills Chevern rode into town in Paul Benchley's passenger seat on that last day of summer. Who is this foster kid? Where did he come from? Why did Paul, that nice, lonely, middle-aged neighbour bring him here to our quiet streets? It's not long after Mills rolls in that all hell breaks loose: the local handyman is found bloated to bursting in the bay, an elderly neighbour is discovered face-down in her garage, and a grotesque creature washes up on shore. As the town swarms with fear, Mills (we're certain that's not his real name) finds himself the chief suspect in a riddle of violent deaths, one he must solve before his own time runs out. Just as the spinning bulb of the Orient lighthouse illuminates the town's darkest corners, Bollen's swift, piercing prose shines its unflinching light on a community in turmoil. Expansive in its scope, precise in its movement, and haunting at its core, Orient sweeps you, heart pounding, eyes wide, and gasping for more, into its world
Summary
Suspenseful and haunting, Bollen's thrilling novel Orient is a provocative take on the troubled American dream, in the vein of Lionel Shriver or AM Homes. At the eastern edge of Long Island, far from the hustle of New York City, stands Orient, a village that has been home to a few families for hundreds of years and is now - reluctantly - opening up to wealthy weekenders and artists from the city. On the last day of summer, a young man with a hazy past appears, and not long after comes a series of events that shatters the peace in this isolated community. A strange, twisted creature washes ashore on the Sound and then a human corpse is found floating in the water. A woman dies in bizarre circumstances and a house fire erupts out of nowhere. Fear and suspicion mount until everyone's secrets threaten to be exposed. But who is Mills Chevern? What is his real name and why is he here? As all eyes shift towards the orphan drifter, Mills elicits the support of Beth Shepherd, an Orient native who is hiding a secret of her own
Pace
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10417694
Cataloging source
Nz
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1975-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bollen, Christopher
Dewey number
813.6
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Islands
  • Drifters
  • Secrecy
  • Young men
  • Villages
  • Secrecy
  • Suspense fiction
  • Psychological fiction
  • Orient (N.Y.)
Target audience
adult
Label
Orient, Christopher Bollen
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • cartographic image
Content type code
  • txt
  • cri
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
000054505018
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
612 pages
Isbn
9781471136153
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
(OCoLC)906895720
Label
Orient, Christopher Bollen
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • cartographic image
Content type code
  • txt
  • cri
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Control code
000054505018
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
612 pages
Isbn
9781471136153
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
(OCoLC)906895720

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre , Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...