Coverart for item
The Resource Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright

Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright

Label
Jokes for the gunmen
Title
Jokes for the gunmen
Statement of responsibility
Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • ara
  • eng
Summary
A brilliant collection of fictions in the vein of Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret and Amy Hempel. These are stories of what the world looks like from a child's pure but sometimes vengeful or muddled perspective. These are stories of life in a war zone, life peppered by surreal mistakes, tragic accidents and painful encounters. These are stories of fantasist matadors, lost limbs and voyeuristic dwarfs. This is a collection about sex, death and the all-important skill of making life into a joke. These are unexpected stories by a very fresh voice. These stories are unforgettable
Member of
Summary
An award-winning blast of literary brilliance from a major new voice on world literature
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10753086
Cataloging source
UKMGB
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Maʻrūf, Māzin
Dewey number
892.737
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Arabic
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorDate
1953-
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Wright, Jonathan
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Maruf, Mazin
  • Maʻrūf, Māzin
  • Short stories, Arabic
Target audience
adult
Label
Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
The author, Mazen Maarouf is authorised on Library of Congress as: Māzin Maʻrūf
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Aquarium
  • Portion of jam
  • Curtain
  • Juan and Ausa
  • Jokes for the gunmen
  • Matador
  • Gramophone
  • Cinema
  • Biscuits
  • Joke
  • Angel of Death
  • Other-People's -Dreams syndrome
Control code
000064973767
Dimensions
20 cm.
Extent
162 pages
Isbn
9781846276675
Lccn
be2019006392
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Label
Jokes for the gunmen, Mazen Maarouf ; translated from the Arabic by Jonathan Wright
Publication
Copyright
Note
The author, Mazen Maarouf is authorised on Library of Congress as: Māzin Maʻrūf
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Aquarium
  • Portion of jam
  • Curtain
  • Juan and Ausa
  • Jokes for the gunmen
  • Matador
  • Gramophone
  • Cinema
  • Biscuits
  • Joke
  • Angel of Death
  • Other-People's -Dreams syndrome
Control code
000064973767
Dimensions
20 cm.
Extent
162 pages
Isbn
9781846276675
Lccn
be2019006392
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre, Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...