Coverart for item
The Resource Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time, Rachel Bertsche

Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time, Rachel Bertsche

Label
Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time
Title
Jennifer, Gwyneth & me
Title remainder
the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time
Statement of responsibility
Rachel Bertsche
Title variation
Jennifer, Gwyneth and me
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"For fans of The Happiness Project and The Year of Living Biblically comes a pointed look at our fascination with celebrities, as one woman strives to remake herself in the image of her favorite stars. What woman hasn't seen pictures of Jennifer Aniston, Gwyneth Paltrow, or Beyonce and wished she had their clothes, their abs, their seemingly flawless lives? For Rachel Bertsche, these celebrities are the epitome of perfection--self-assured and effortlessly cool. Yet lately, between juggling her career, her marriage, and her dream of becoming a mother, Bertsche feels anything but put together. In Jennifer, Gwyneth & Me, Bertsche embarks on a quest to emulate her Hollywood role models--while sticking to a budget--to see if they really hold the keys to happiness. While trying to unlock the stars' secrets, from Sarah Jessica Parker's wardrobe to Julia Roberts's sense of calm to--maybe one day--Jessica Alba's chic pregnancy, Bertsche learns valuable lessons. A toned body doesn't come easy or cheap, avoiding social media can do wonders for your peace of mind, and confidence is the key to pulling off any outfit. But can she immerse herself in the A-list lifestyle and still stay true to herself? And will her pursuit of perfection really lead to happiness? Praise for Rachel Bertsche's MWF Seeking BFF "Written with verve, insight, and humor. Bertsche writes cleverly, but not glibly, about the challenges young women face today."--Chicago Tribune "[A] charming, funny chronicle."--People"--
Summary
Part memoir, part research and reflection, a journalist embarks on a quest to remake her life in the image of her favorite celebrities and explores why we covet the lives of celebrities and believe that if we only had what they had - looks, money, houses, fabulousness - our lives would be perfect too
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Biography type
contains biographical information
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10319681
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bertsche, Rachel
Dewey number
B
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Bertsche, Rachel
  • Celebrities in mass media
  • Journalists
  • Fame
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time
Label
Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time, Rachel Bertsche
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Contents
Machine generated contents note: ch. One Jennifer Aniston's Body -- ch. Two Gwyneth Paltrow's Kitchen -- ch. Three Sarah Jessica Parker's Wardrobe -- ch. Four Tina Fey's Work Ethic -- ch. Five Jennifer Garner's Marriage -- ch. Six Julia Roberts's Serenity -- ch. Seven Jessica Alba's Pregnancy -- ch. Eight Beyonce: The Whole Package
Control code
000052760719
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
xx, 234 pages
Form of item
regular print reproduction
Isbn
9780345543226
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Label
Jennifer, Gwyneth & me : the pursuit of happiness, one celebrity at a time, Rachel Bertsche
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Contents
Machine generated contents note: ch. One Jennifer Aniston's Body -- ch. Two Gwyneth Paltrow's Kitchen -- ch. Three Sarah Jessica Parker's Wardrobe -- ch. Four Tina Fey's Work Ethic -- ch. Five Jennifer Garner's Marriage -- ch. Six Julia Roberts's Serenity -- ch. Seven Jessica Alba's Pregnancy -- ch. Eight Beyonce: The Whole Package
Control code
000052760719
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
xx, 234 pages
Form of item
regular print reproduction
Isbn
9780345543226
Isbn Type
(paperback)

Library Locations

    • Malabar Community LibraryBorrow it
      1203 Anzac Parade, Matraville, NSW, 2036, AU
      -33.962293 151.245961
Processing Feedback ...