Coverart for item
The Resource Infernal angels, Loren D. Estleman

Infernal angels, Loren D. Estleman

Label
Infernal angels
Title
Infernal angels
Statement of responsibility
Loren D. Estleman
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Detroit private investigator Amos Walker is hired to recover HDTV converter boxes stolen from a retailer whose shop also does vintage resale business. Before long, the case turns old school: both a suspect and the man who lost the boxes are murdered, and Walker ends up working with both the local police and the feds
Member of
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Review
  • Private investigator Amos Walker invariably compares the present and the past as he grinds through the best and worst Detroit has to offer. His latest case seems high-tech, but it’s really very old school. A retailer missing a large shipment of HDTV converters hires Walker to find them. The logical dumping ground for the shipment would be the network of illegitimate fences and precious metal recyclers that move the copper, platinum, lead, and sheet metal of yesterday’s technology back into the supply chain. But when the retailer and Walker’s key contact in the recycling underground are murdered, the real motive for the theft emerges. The converters were used to transport lethally potent heroin that’s killing junkies all over Detroit. Could it get any more old school? Walker trudges through an array of clues, snitches, thugs, and victims on his way to a painful solution. Estleman has piled up enough literary awards to add a wing to his home. Read this classic yet modern example of the hard-boiled detective novel, and you’ll begin to understand why. -- Lukowsky, Wes (Reviewed 06-01-2011) (Booklist, vol 107, number 19, p42)
  • /* Starred Review */ Shamus Award–winner Estleman demonstrates that the art of inserting a Philip Marlowe–esque hero into modern times is alive and well in his 21st novel featuring Detroit PI Amos Walker (after 2010's The Left-Handed Dollar). Reuben Crossgrain, proprietor of Past Presence ("Everything you require for the Modern Regressive Lifestyle"), hires Walker to recover 25 TV converter boxes that allow the owner to watch HDTV on an analog set, although the total value of the loss isn't much more than Walker's standard retainer. The detective hits the pavement to identify the likely recipients of the hot items, and his digging soon attracts the attention of ex-Detroit police detective Mary Ann Thaler, who now works in D.C. on homeland security. As the bodies start to drop, Estleman presents a powerful view of the battered inner city, where federally funded housing ends up derelict. Three decades on, Estleman and Walker show no signs of slowing down. (July) --Staff (Reviewed May 9, 2011) (Publishers Weekly, vol 258, issue 19, p)
  • Few authors could write a gripping crime novel about the theft of HDTV convertor boxes in Detroit; but if the tale is told by esteemed noir writer Estleman, sit back and enjoy the ride. Motown's most cantankerous gumshoe is back in his 21st novel, and he's never been more irrepressible or caustic. When Amos Walker (The Left-Handed Dollar ) gets a tip on a client looking to recover some stolen convertor boxes, he signs on for a few days work. What follows is the uncovering of a heroin smuggling ring that turns an easy case into a federal investigation. Throw in the widow of an infamous crime boss, dead junkies, and Walker's increasing dependency on Vicodin, and you've got yourself a great story. VERDICT While this mystery can be read as a stand-alone, it is more enjoyable when the reader is familiar with the cast of characters from past adventures. Gritty and full of depressing facts about an American city that has seen better days, this would strongly appeal to fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, and other authors of hard-boiled detective fiction.— Amy Nolan, St. Joseph P.L., MI --Amy Nolan (Reviewed June 1, 2011) (Library Journal, vol 136, issue 10, p87)
  • Estleman composes still another hymn to Detroit, with Amos Walker soloing for the 21st time (The Left-handed Dollar, 2010, etc.). Detroit PD Sergeant Mansanard is that rarest of rare birds, a cop who likes Amos Walker. Likes him well enough to recommend him to a certain R. Crossgrain, whose retro-looking business card promises: "Everything you require for the Modern Regressive Lifestyle." Even someone as astute as Walker, arguably Detroit's most literate P.I., has trouble translating that from gnomic to English, but he gets the gist. Crossgrain markets to the technologically challenged. Driven by the obligatory cash-flow problems, Walker pockets the card and calls on Crossgrain, who explains that a recent break-in has left him suddenly short 50 television converter boxes. What matters most about these boxes, it turns out, is they're hollow, a design feature eminently useful to career smugglers. In due time, it becomes clear to Walker that along with the converter boxes, a substantial amount of high-grade heroin is also missing. The bad guys who once owned it want it back, and they propose to fill body bags with obstructionists. Though Walker would prefer not to be numbered among these, he puts his own attitude succinctly: "Whenever I'm faced with a problem, I identify it, analyze it, and make it bigger." Formulaic, to be sure, but steadfast marchers in Walker's army are not likely to complain.(Kirkus Reviews, July 1, 2011)
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
392286
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Estleman, Loren D
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Amos Walker novels
Series volume
0021
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Private investigators
  • Drug traffic
  • Detroit (Mich.)
Target audience
adult
Label
Infernal angels, Loren D. Estleman
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Control code
000046891729
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
270 p.
Form of item
regular print reproduction
Isbn
9780765319555
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Label
Infernal angels, Loren D. Estleman
Publication
Note
"A Tom Doherty Associates book."
Control code
000046891729
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
270 p.
Form of item
regular print reproduction
Isbn
9780765319555
Isbn Type
(hbk.)

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre, Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...