Coverart for item
The Resource In the days of rain, Rebecca Stott

In the days of rain, Rebecca Stott

Label
In the days of rain
Title
In the days of rain
Statement of responsibility
Rebecca Stott
Title variation
In the days of rain
Title variation remainder
a daughter, a father, a cult
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult. 'At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn't explain how I'd become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn't really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father...' As Rebecca Stott's father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on. The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished. Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him. In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father's story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family's experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away
Summary
The author of the best-selling Ghostwalk describes her childhood in a mid-20th-century cult and her struggles to understand her late father's high-ranking position as a cult minister, describing the restrictions, contradictions and choices that led to numerous tragedies and her father's imprisonment
Tone
Writing style
Award
Costa Biography Award, 2017.
Biography type
individual biography
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10569338
Cataloging source
QRML
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Stott, Rebecca
Dewey number
289.9
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Stott, Roger M
  • Stott, Rebecca
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Fathers and daughters
  • Christian sects
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a daughter, a father, a cult
Label
In the days of rain, Rebecca Stott
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Reckoning -- Before -- During -- Aftermath
Control code
000059951081
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
394 pages
Isbn
9780008209179
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)987860283
Label
In the days of rain, Rebecca Stott
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Reckoning -- Before -- During -- Aftermath
Control code
000059951081
Dimensions
21 cm.
Extent
394 pages
Isbn
9780008209179
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)987860283

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...