Coverart for item
The Resource House on endless waters : a novel, Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel

House on endless waters : a novel, Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel

Label
House on endless waters : a novel
Title
House on endless waters
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
For fans of The Invisible Bridge and The History of Love, a lyrical and exquisitely moving novel about a writer who embarks on a transformative journey in Amsterdam, where he discovers the shocking truth about his mother's wartime experience - unearthing a remarkable story that becomes the subject of his magnum opus. At the behest of his agent, renowned author Yoel Blum reluctantly agrees to visit his birthplace of Amsterdam to meet with his Dutch publisher, despite promising his late mother that he would never return to that city. While touring the Jewish Museum with his wife, Yoel stumbles upon a looping reel of photos offering a glimpse of pre-war Dutch Jewish life, and is astonished to see the youthful face of his beloved mother staring back at him, posing with her husband, Yoel's older sister, Nettie ... and an infant he doesn't recognize. This unsettling discovery launches him into a fervent search for the truth, revealing Amsterdam's dark wartime history and the underground networks which hid Jewish children away from danger - but at a cost. The deeper into the past Yoel digs, the better he understands his mother's silence, and the more urgent the question that has unconsciously haunted him for a lifetime - Who am I? - becomes. Evocative, insightful, and deeply resonant, House on Endless Waters beautifully illustrates the complex nature of identity and belonging, and the inextricability of past and present
Member of
Cataloging source
QPPL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Elon, Emunah
Index
no index present
Language note
Translated from the Hebrew
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
  • Berris, Anthony
  • Yechiel, Linda
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Jewish authors
  • Jews
  • Jews, Dutch
  • Family secrets
  • World War, 1939-1945
Target audience
adult
Label
House on endless waters : a novel, Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Originally published in Israel in 2016 by Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir ; English translation ℗♭2020
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 311)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000066746325
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
309 pages
Isbn
9781760877255
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)1141901506
Label
House on endless waters : a novel, Emuna Elon ; translated from Hebrew by Anthony Berris and Linda Yechiel
Publication
Note
Originally published in Israel in 2016 by Kinneret Zmora-Bitan Dvir ; English translation ℗♭2020
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (page 311)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
000066746325
Dimensions
24 cm.
Extent
309 pages
Isbn
9781760877255
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Specific material designation
regular print
System control number
(OCoLC)1141901506

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre, Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...