Coverart for item
The Resource Holiday in Cambodia

Holiday in Cambodia

Label
Holiday in Cambodia
Title
Holiday in Cambodia
Statement of responsibility
Laura Jean McKay
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Shortlisted for the Glenda Adams Award for New Writing in the 2014 NSW Premier's Literary AwardsBeyond the killing fields and the temples of Angkor is Cambodia: a country with a genocidal past and a wide, open smile. A frontier land where anything is possible – at least for the tourists. In Holiday in Cambodia Laura Jean McKay explores the electric zone where local and foreign lives meet. There are tender, funny moments of tentative understanding, as well as devastating re-imaginings of a troubled history.Three backpackers board a train, ignoring the danger signs – and find themselves in the hands of the Khmer Rouge. Elderly sisters are visited by their vampire niece from Australia and set out to cure her. A singer creates a sensation in swinging 1969, on the eve of an American bombing campaign. These are bold and haunting stories by a remarkable new talent.'Each of these stories is like catching a snippet of a conversation or looking into a lit window in a dark night, and loitering longer than you should to hear and see what characters inadvertently reveal about themselves. Holiday in Cambodia shows the ugly side of post-colonial tourism as well as moments of great pathos and dignity; in a compelling and empathetic voice.' – Alice Pung'Polished, Hemingwayesque snapshots, vivid and atmospheric' - Steven Carroll'a serious and impressive attempt to engage with Cambodia in all its pock-marked history.' - The Sunday Age'Mckay's artful balancing of strong themes with perceptive detail, even humour, allows Holiday in Cambodia to explore what many of its characters are only half-heartedly searching for: the real Cambodia, a country still trying to recover.' - Australian Book Review'The range of perspectives offered across these stories works like word of mouth, building a picture of a country on trust.' - The AustralianLaura Jean McKay's writing has been published in The Best Australian Stories, Sleepers, the Big Issue, Women of Letters and Going Down Swinging. She has been shortlisted for national and international awards and in 2011 won the Alan Marshall Short Story Award. She lives in Melbourne
Summary
A powerful and impressive debut from one of Australia's most exciting young writers for fans of Alice Munro, Nam Le, Lorrie Moore and Jennifer Egan. Beyond the killing fields and the temples of Angkor Wat is Cambodia: a country with a genocidal past and a wide, open smile. A frontier land where anything is possible at least for Western expatriates. In these loosely linked stories, Laura Jean McKay takes us deep into this complex country, exploring the uneasy spaces where local and foreign lives meet. Three backpackers board a train, ignoring the danger signs and find themselves used as bargaining chips in a terrible game. A jaded expat, tired of real girls, falls in love with an ancient statue. As they explore the sweltering streets of Phnom Penh, two Australian tourists come face to face with the cracks in their marriage. There are devastating re-imaginings of the country's troubled history, as well as tender, funny moments of tentative understanding. These are bold and haunting stories, deftly told.
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10233980
Cataloging source
ANL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
McKay, Laura Jean
Dewey number
823.4
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Short Stories
Target audience
adult
Label
Holiday in Cambodia
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:f9aec2a6-2dd2-4241-903b-49016c9b91c2
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781922231055
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Holiday in Cambodia
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:f9aec2a6-2dd2-4241-903b-49016c9b91c2
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781922231055
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...