Coverart for item
The Resource Holiday in Cambodia, Laura Jean McKay

Holiday in Cambodia, Laura Jean McKay

Label
Holiday in Cambodia
Title
Holiday in Cambodia
Statement of responsibility
Laura Jean McKay
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Beyond the killing fields and the temples of Angkor Wat is Cambodia: a country with a genocidal past and a wide, open smile. A frontier land where anything is possible - at least for Western expatriates.In these loosely linked stories, Laura Jean McKay takes us deep into this complex country, exploring the uneasy spaces where local and foreign lives meet.Three backpackers board a train, ignoring the danger signs - and find themselves used as bargaining chips in a terrible game.A jaded expat, tired of real girls, falls in love with an ancient statue.As they explore the sweltering streets of Phnom Penh, two Australian tourists come face to face with the cracks in their marriage.There are devastating re-imaginings of the country's troubled history, as well as tender, funny moments of tentative understanding. These are bold and haunting stories, deftly told
Summary
A powerful and impressive debut from one of Australia's most exciting young writers for fans of Alice Munro, Nam Le, Lorrie Moore and Jennifer Egan. Beyond the killing fields and the temples of Angkor Wat is Cambodia: a country with a genocidal past and a wide, open smile. A frontier land where anything is possible at least for Western expatriates. In these loosely linked stories, Laura Jean McKay takes us deep into this complex country, exploring the uneasy spaces where local and foreign lives meet. Three backpackers board a train, ignoring the danger signs and find themselves used as bargaining chips in a terrible game. A jaded expat, tired of real girls, falls in love with an ancient statue. As they explore the sweltering streets of Phnom Penh, two Australian tourists come face to face with the cracks in their marriage. There are devastating re-imaginings of the country's troubled history, as well as tender, funny moments of tentative understanding. These are bold and haunting stories, deftly told.
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10233980
Cataloging source
ANL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
McKay, Laura Jean
Dewey number
823.4
Index
no index present
Literary form
short stories
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Sisters
  • Travellers
  • Singers
  • Cambodia
Target audience
adult
Label
Holiday in Cambodia, Laura Jean McKay
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Control code
000050864328
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
v, 207 pages
Isbn
9781863956062
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Label
Holiday in Cambodia, Laura Jean McKay
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Content category
text
Control code
000050864328
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
v, 207 pages
Isbn
9781863956062
Isbn Type
(paperback)

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre, Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...