Coverart for item
The Resource Hello, Universe

Hello, Universe

Label
Hello, Universe
Title
Hello, Universe
Statement of responsibility
Erin Entrada Kelly
Title variation
Hello universe
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so that he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find the missing Virgil. Sometimes four can do what one cannot. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia
Summary
Lives of four misfits are intertwined when a bully's prank lands shy Virgil at the bottom of a well and Valencia, Kaori, and Gen band together in an epic quest to find and rescue him
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Newbery Medal, 2018.
  • School Library Journal Best Books, 2017
  • ALA Notable Children's Books, 2018.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10555134
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kelly, Erin Entrada
Index
no index present
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
690
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 3
  • 7
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Children's Fiction
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Hello, Universe
Instantiates
Control code
BORROWBOX:HUS_395144
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062414175
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Hello, Universe
Control code
BORROWBOX:HUS_395144
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062414175
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...