Coverart for item
The Resource Escaping exodus : a novel, Nicky Drayden

Escaping exodus : a novel, Nicky Drayden

Label
Escaping exodus : a novel
Title
Escaping exodus
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Nicky Drayden
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"The Compton Crook award-winning author of The Prey of Gods and Temper returns with a dazzling stand-alone novel, set in deep space, in which the fate of humanity rests on the slender shoulders of an idealistic and untested young woman - a blend of science fiction, dark humor, and magical realism that will appeal to fans of Charlie Jane Anders, Jeff VanderMeer, and Nnedi Okorafor. Earth is a distant memory. Habitable extrasolar planets are still out of reach. For generations, humanity has been clinging to survival by establishing colonies within enormous vacuum-breathing space beasts and mining their resources to the point of depletion. Rash, dreamy, and unconventional, Seske Kaleigh should be preparing for her future role as clan leader, but her people have just culled their latest beast, and she's eager to find the cause of the violent tremors plaguing their new home. Defying social barriers, Seske teams up with her best friend, a beast worker, and ventures into restricted areas for answers to end the mounting fear and rumors. Instead, they discover grim truths about the price of life in the void. Then, Seske is unexpectedly thrust into the role of clan matriarch, responsible for thousands of lives in a harsh universe where a single mistake can be fatal. Her claim to the throne is challenged by a rival determined to overthrow her and take control - her intelligent, cunning, and confident sister. Seske may not be a born leader like her sister, yet her unorthodox outlook and incorruptible idealism may be what the clan needs to save themselves and their world." -- ONIX annotation
Storyline
Character
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10762898
Cataloging source
NPL
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Drayden, Nicky
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Space colonies
  • Clans
  • Sisters
Target audience
adult
Label
Escaping exodus : a novel, Nicky Drayden
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Includes excerpts from The prey of gods and Temper
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Machine generated contents note: pt. I EXCAVATION -- Seske: Of Old Friends and New Awakenings -- Adalla: Of Solid Heartbeats and Dented Pans -- Seske: Of Lost Lines and Found Texts -- Adalla: Of Slow Beats and Fast Women -- pt. II EXPANSION -- Seske: Of Soiled Cloths and Pristine Dances -- Adalla: Of Silent Girls and Loud Mothers -- Seske: Of Unseen Men and Overheard Plans -- Adalla: Of Sharp Knives and Blunt Messages -- Seske: Of Given Names and Stolen Lives -- pt. III EXTINCTION -- Adalla: Of Strange Fruit and Familiar Signs -- Seske: Of Questionable Crimes and Undisputed Punishment -- Adalla: Of Secret Sisterhood and Public Apologies -- Seske: Of Lively Puppetry and Deadly Lace -- Seske: Of Higher Learning and Lowered Expectations -- Adalla: Of Unborn Souls and Unanswered Questions -- Seske: Of Open Space and Closed Hearts -- pt. IV EXODUS -- Adalla: Of Hard Plating and Soft Lies -- Seske: Of Shoddy Lists and Perfect Planets -- Seske: Of Full Plates and Empty Wombs --
  • Contents note continued: Adalla: Of Damp Slips and Dry Buckets -- Seske: Of Infinite Pain and Null Gravity
Control code
000066166121
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
322 pages
Isbn
9780062867735
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1122615643
Label
Escaping exodus : a novel, Nicky Drayden
Publication
Note
Includes excerpts from The prey of gods and Temper
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
  • Machine generated contents note: pt. I EXCAVATION -- Seske: Of Old Friends and New Awakenings -- Adalla: Of Solid Heartbeats and Dented Pans -- Seske: Of Lost Lines and Found Texts -- Adalla: Of Slow Beats and Fast Women -- pt. II EXPANSION -- Seske: Of Soiled Cloths and Pristine Dances -- Adalla: Of Silent Girls and Loud Mothers -- Seske: Of Unseen Men and Overheard Plans -- Adalla: Of Sharp Knives and Blunt Messages -- Seske: Of Given Names and Stolen Lives -- pt. III EXTINCTION -- Adalla: Of Strange Fruit and Familiar Signs -- Seske: Of Questionable Crimes and Undisputed Punishment -- Adalla: Of Secret Sisterhood and Public Apologies -- Seske: Of Lively Puppetry and Deadly Lace -- Seske: Of Higher Learning and Lowered Expectations -- Adalla: Of Unborn Souls and Unanswered Questions -- Seske: Of Open Space and Closed Hearts -- pt. IV EXODUS -- Adalla: Of Hard Plating and Soft Lies -- Seske: Of Shoddy Lists and Perfect Planets -- Seske: Of Full Plates and Empty Wombs --
  • Contents note continued: Adalla: Of Damp Slips and Dry Buckets -- Seske: Of Infinite Pain and Null Gravity
Control code
000066166121
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First edition.
Extent
322 pages
Isbn
9780062867735
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1122615643

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...