Coverart for item
The Resource Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery

Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery

Label
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
Title
Doing harm
Title remainder
the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
Statement of responsibility
Maya Dusenbery
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In this shocking, hard-hitting expose in the tradition of Naomi Klein and Barbara Ehrenreich, the editorial director of Feministing.com reveals how gender bias infects every level of medicine and healthcare today--leading to inadequate, inappropriate, and even dangerous treatment that threatens women's lives and well-being. Modern medicine is failing women. Half of all American women suffer from at least one chronic health condition--from autoimmune disorders and asthma to depression and Alzheimer's disease--and the numbers are increasing. A wealth of research has revealed that women often exhibit different symptoms than their male counterparts, suffer disproportionately from many debilitating conditions, and may react differently to prescription drugs and other therapies. Yet more than twenty years after the law decreed that women be included in all health-related research and drug development, doctors are still operating with a lingering knowledge gap when it comes to women's health. And they're not immune to unconscious biases and stereotypes that can undermine the doctor-patient relationship. The consequences can be catastrophic: too often, women are misdiagnosed, poorly treated, and find their complaints dismissed as 'just stress' or 'all in your head.' Meanwhile, they're getting sicker. Maya Dusenbery brings together scientific and sociological research, interviews with experts within and outside the medical establishment, and personal stories from regular women to provide the first comprehensive, accessible look at how sexism in medicine harms women today. In addition to offering a clear-eyed explanation of the root causes of this insidious and entrenched bias and laying out its effects, she suggests concrete steps we can take to cure it"--
Summary
The editorial director of the award-winning site Feministing.com explains how gender biases are negatively impacting every level of medicine and health care today, arguing that incorrect diagnoses and treatments are threatening women's lives
Award
Minnesota Book Award for General Nonfiction, 2019.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10622596
Cataloging source
TDS
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Dusenbery, Maya
Dewey number
613.04244
Index
index present
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Women
  • Women
  • Sexism in medicine
  • Health education
  • Medical policy
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick
Label
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 323-377) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction -- Part 1. Overlooked and dismissed: a systemic problem. The knowledge gap ; The trust gap -- Part 2. Invisible women in a "male model" system. Heart disease and other life-threatening emergencies ; Autoimmune disease and the long search for a diagnosis -- Part 3. Neglected diseases: the disorders formerly known as hysteria. Chronic pain: "pain is real when you get other people to believe in it" ; The curse of Eve: when being sick is "normal" ; Contested illnesses: when diseases are "fashionable" -- Conclusion
Control code
000065272535
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First HarperCollins paperback edition.
Extent
390 pages
Isbn
9780062470836
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1090145574
Label
Doing harm : the truth about how bad medicine and lazy science leave women dismissed, misdiagnosed, and sick, Maya Dusenbery
Publication
Copyright
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 323-377) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Introduction -- Part 1. Overlooked and dismissed: a systemic problem. The knowledge gap ; The trust gap -- Part 2. Invisible women in a "male model" system. Heart disease and other life-threatening emergencies ; Autoimmune disease and the long search for a diagnosis -- Part 3. Neglected diseases: the disorders formerly known as hysteria. Chronic pain: "pain is real when you get other people to believe in it" ; The curse of Eve: when being sick is "normal" ; Contested illnesses: when diseases are "fashionable" -- Conclusion
Control code
000065272535
Dimensions
21 cm.
Edition
First HarperCollins paperback edition.
Extent
390 pages
Isbn
9780062470836
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
(OCoLC)1090145574

Library Locations

    • Margaret Martin LibraryBorrow it
      Level 1, Royal Randwick Shopping Centre , Randwick, NSW, 2031, AU
      -33.9151421 151.2408898
Processing Feedback ...