Coverart for item
The Resource Diamond Doris : the true story of the world's most notorious jewel thief, Doris Payne with Zelda Lockhart

Diamond Doris : the true story of the world's most notorious jewel thief, Doris Payne with Zelda Lockhart

Label
Diamond Doris : the true story of the world's most notorious jewel thief
Title
Diamond Doris
Title remainder
the true story of the world's most notorious jewel thief
Statement of responsibility
Doris Payne with Zelda Lockhart
Creator
Contributor
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
She stole diamonds from the people who underestimated her, she exploited the men who tried to domesticate her, and she consistently defied society's assumptions and prejudices to create a new life for herself. For fans of Catch Me If You Can, The Wolf of Wall Street and Molly's Game, this is the newest must-read crime autobiography. Growing up during the Depression in the segregated coal town of Slab Fork, West Virginia, Doris Payne was told her dreams were unattainable for poor black girls like her. Surrounded by people who sought to limit her potential, Doris vowed to turn the tables and neither racism nor poverty would hold her back. Using her southern charm, quick wit, and light fingers as her tools, Payne began shoplifting small pieces of jewellery from local stores. Over the course of six decades, her talents grew with each heist. Becoming an expert world-class jewel thief, she daringly pulled off numerous diamond robberies whilst her boyfriend fenced the stolen gems to Hollywood celebrities. A rip-roaringly fun and exciting story as captivating and audacious as Ocean's 8 and as honest and compelling as Hidden Figures - Diamond Doris is the portrait of a captivating anti-hero who refused to be defined by the prejudices and mores of a hypocritical society
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
NHP
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1930-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Payne, Doris
Dewey number
364.15
Illustrations
portraits
Index
no index present
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Lockhart, Zelda
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Payne, Doris
  • Jewel thieves
  • Jewel thieves
Target audience
adult
Label
Diamond Doris : the true story of the world's most notorious jewel thief, Doris Payne with Zelda Lockhart
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Contents
Part I : Color -- I wasn't born a jewel thief -- Greed -- My declaration of war -- Mr. Benjamin -- Part II : Clarity -- Trickster in practice -- Finding my way out -- My first big heist -- Hot ice, cold feet -- Making good on my crimes -- Taking things to the next level -- Racial backfire -- It's who you know, but you don't own me -- Family ties and known associates -- Part III : Cut -- Going international -- Diamond fever -- Returning to baby Jesus -- Fault line -- Off my game -- Throwing dust at disaster -- Part IV : Carat -- Snared -- Telling people what they want to hear -- Tokyo diamonds and the mohair coat -- The long game -- Dry snitches -- Reckoning
Control code
000066184049
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
xi, 262 pages
Isbn
9781472270535
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
be2019038002
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
portraits
System control number
(OCoLC)1111095133
Label
Diamond Doris : the true story of the world's most notorious jewel thief, Doris Payne with Zelda Lockhart
Publication
Copyright
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
  • text
  • still image
Content type code
  • txt
  • sti
Content type MARC source
  • rdacontent
  • rdacontent
Contents
Part I : Color -- I wasn't born a jewel thief -- Greed -- My declaration of war -- Mr. Benjamin -- Part II : Clarity -- Trickster in practice -- Finding my way out -- My first big heist -- Hot ice, cold feet -- Making good on my crimes -- Taking things to the next level -- Racial backfire -- It's who you know, but you don't own me -- Family ties and known associates -- Part III : Cut -- Going international -- Diamond fever -- Returning to baby Jesus -- Fault line -- Off my game -- Throwing dust at disaster -- Part IV : Carat -- Snared -- Telling people what they want to hear -- Tokyo diamonds and the mohair coat -- The long game -- Dry snitches -- Reckoning
Control code
000066184049
Dimensions
22 cm.
Extent
xi, 262 pages
Isbn
9781472270535
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
be2019038002
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
portraits
System control number
(OCoLC)1111095133

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...