The Resource Blood Moon

Blood Moon

Label
Blood Moon
Title
Blood Moon
Statement of responsibility
Garry Disher
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
When hordes of eighteen-year-olds descend on the Peninsula to celebrate the end of exams, the overstretched police of Waterloo know they can expect party drugs and public drunkenness. What they don't count on is a brutal bashing that turns political. The victim is connected. And for Detective Inspector Hal Challis, newly embarked on a relationship with his sergeant, Ellen Destry, this is not the best time to have the brass on his back. Especially when a bludgeoned corpse is found outside town and it becomes clear something much darker than adolescent craziness is going down. Garry Disher has published almost fifty titles—fiction, children's books, anthologies, textbooks, the Wyatt thrillers and the Peninsula Crimes series. He has won numerous awards, including the German Crime Prize (twice) and two Ned Kelly Best Crime novel awards, for Chain of Evidence (2007) and Wyatt (2010). Garry lives on Victoria's Mornington Peninsula. 'Blood Moon is a fine example of just how good crime writing can be.' Australian 'Disher's skilful writing grabs the reader's attention within the first pages ad doesn't let go until the book reaches its very satisfying conclusion...well written, thought provoking and gripping, will appeal to readers of Ian Rankin and Michael Robotham.' Australian Bookseller and Publisher 'A thoroughly enjoyable novel and mystery that is easily the equal of those by John Harvey, Ian Rankin and other leaders of this form of crime-writing.' Canberra Times 'Blood Moon is entertaining and stimulating...it leaves the reader wanting more of Disher's plotting skill, and wondering about the next twist in the complex relationship between Challis and Destry...' Australian Book Review 'DI Challis and his sergeant Ellen Destry...are both deftly, yet complexly drawn characters: two of the best in the genre and Disher easily one of the best writers.' NZ Weekend Herald 'With so many exhibitionist forensic experts showing off their extraordinary skills, it's a rare pleasure to sit down to a traditional detective story in which solid police work solves a crime.' New York Times '[a] superior police procedural...' Publishers Weekly
Member of
Summary
When hordes of eighteen-year-old schoolies descend on the Mornington Peninsula to celebrate the last of their exams, the overstretched police of Waterloo expect reports of party drugs and underage drinkers. Maybe even drink-spiking and sexual assault. They don't count on a brutal bashing that attracts political attention. The victim is connected, and now Detective Inspector Hal Challis is facing interference from on high. Newly embarked on a relationship with his sergeant, Ellen Destry, Challis doesn't really need the brass looking over his shoulder. Then a bludgeoned corpse is found outside town, and it's clear something much darker than adolescent craziness is going down.
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
307720
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1949-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Disher, Garry
Dewey number
823.914
Index
no index present
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
Inspector Hal Challis mysteries
Series volume
0005
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Fiction
  • Thriller
Target audience
adult
Label
Blood Moon
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8a5f9ae4-39e0-48f2-9e94-9ca72e9642ba
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781921776915
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Blood Moon
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:8a5f9ae4-39e0-48f2-9e94-9ca72e9642ba
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9781921776915
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

    • Lionel Bowen Library and Community CentreBorrow it
      669-673 Anzac Parade, Marouba, NSW, 2035, AU
      -33.938111 151.237977
Processing Feedback ...